Tags

It’s November and apparently, nablopomo month – where bloggers everywhere attempt to blog every day for the month of November – which I intended to take part in this year, but moving house over the first couple of days of the month somewhat scuppered those plans. But that’s no reason to not join in the fun and try and develop some better blogging habits in the process. To that end I will be attempting to catch up with all the posts I keep meaning to make and not getting round to – and what better way to start a new challenge than with the last hurrah of an old challenge?

Quite some time ago I started a project to review 10 art exhibitions, originally a way to make myself see and engage with more art during one particular year but evolving into a longer-term project. I realised recently that I’d written nine reviews and that I only needed one more to finish the project off. So here’s a review of the last art exhibition that I saw that made me want to write about it.

Back in June, I found myself in Inverness for work related reasons (I liked it so much I went back for 3 months later in the Summer!) and took the opportunity to check out the local Museum and art gallery on my lunch breaks. Upstairs in the art gallery they had a lovely wee exhibition called ‘Bud to Bloom’ compiled from pieces from the Crafts Council Collection that were inspired by the natural world and the life-cycles of plants.

It was just a small exhibition, but the pieces were well chosen, organic and strange as plant-life always is in real life.

Mother Pumpkin Jug

At one end of the scale there was the Mother Pumpkin Jug, with its lingering sense of something burgeoning, as though escaped from a fairy-tale, half-transformed.

Silver Organism and Dandelion BagWild Flower

At the other the delicate fragile beauty of the Silver Organism and Dandelion Bag, along with the Wildflower high above them.

Wednesday Light

Somewhere in between stood Wednesday Light, straddling the line between tactile and ethereal, collaboration between a sculptor and a textile company to combine two aesthetically pleasing items into something somehow greater than the sum of its parts.

Tree AlphabetMore Alphabet

The plants seemed to follow me out of the exhibitions, as down the stairs there was a display of the Gaidhlig tree alphabet – in poetic gaidhlig each letter of the alphabet is represented by a tree. Even outside the museum, down a side street I found some joyously colourful floral street-art, along with the injunction to ‘Keep Moving’ which seemed oddly in keeping with the exhibition and its themes of nature and renewal, of grown and change.

WallflowerKeep moving

Bud to Bloom ran at the Inverness Museum and Art Gallery until the 12th of July 2014.

